Are Europeans really stingy?

Here’s the deal:
I’m a European, living in one of the most expensive European countries. People rarely do invite each other for a beer or a coffee and if they do, they go dutch next time they meet. I’ve always told myself, it’s not because we are stingy, but because prices are so high and as a student I can hardly afford to be generous here. Is this going to change after graduation?

On the contrary, everybody in Taiwan is very generous, which I think is because of the low prices. This naturally does affect me. Everytime I’m in Taiwan, within a few days, I become a generous and magnanimous person. As soon as I set foot on European territory again, I’m as thrifty
and maybe stingy as before.

So now my boyfriend comes to visit me here in Europe and we’re planning to take a little trip to the neighbouring countries. 5 cities in 4 countries is the plan and it’s going to be great. I made the bookings already, cause here the maxim is, the earlier you book the cheaper the flights (even cheaper than train) and hotels. Our trip will cost me 50’000 NT for hotel and flights only, food and some extra train rides not included. Aiyoooooo…this is really hurting my poor little students purse…but am I really stingy??

No. You are not stingy.

People don’t go dutch on beer, but on food.

No, you’re not stingy …

I’m European as well, and because of the low prices here, I spend more and buy more stuff than I’d ever do at home.
In Europe, I would never have bought brandname clothing, or bought any luxury items, but here I do … now and then.

Another big difference is taxes: in Taiwan, you keep most of the money you earn, in Europe, half your salary goes to the taxman, so of course you’re more careful about spending what little is left.

Can we stop making these fatuous generalisations please ? “Europeans are stingy, Taiwanese are generous” Blah blah blah.

mesheel, what age are you ?