Are there mitigating circumstances that can reduce a sentence for rape?

don’t get confused recently I heard somebody tried to rape 45 years old after he drunk. what will be the punishment for this fellow he is 27 years old?
let me see your comments!

[emojis removed by moderator]

Why the four happy smiles to start off the OP and an exclamation point at the end?

Rape is a serious offense, no matter the circumstances.

Others may know the answer, but my first reaction is you/your friend could be in serious trouble if the lady files a report with the police and should hire a lawyer to know the true consequences of it.

@KHHville, sorry for the type error or the way I put my feeling may be its my first time to come across with such an issue but i just heard the guy crying on the MRT and I approached him and asked what happened then he told me he drank for the first time and what happened was totally unconsciously, then I really feel sorry for him. I met him after the police filed his report from the lady and put him in prison for the whole one day and free him to follow his case outside.

I don’t think their age is relevant. And being drunk isn’t much of a defense if at all.

@Andrew0409: being drunk you can not use it for defense. could you be more specific?Thanks!

he’s actually quite clear

You/your friend cannot tell the judge “sorry about the rape, I was drunk at the time and don’t remember”.
Actions have consequences, just like drunk driving.

1 Like

@KHHville: I feel the same after the guy told me and even get angry while he was telling what happened and how it happened.