Arriving in September - Seeking Advice

Hi,

I’m coming to Taiwan in September from England. I have a degree and Cert TESOL but no teaching experience as of yet.

I’d been advised to look for work once I arrive rather than in advance. Having looked into the technicalities of getting a visa and work permit I’m now wondering if it might be better to secure a job beforehand. I’ve read some contradictory pieces of information about how to obtain a resident visa and work permit once I’m in Taiwan. Some say I would have to do a visa run, some say I wouldnt.

I’m interested to know peoples opinions on the above and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot

WElcome frodo. Dont worry the calvary will be coming shortly. Its not September yet.

Have a listen to this group SEPTEMBER while you wait

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxu6iQ28arw

Which might be appropriate because you will be entering TAIWAN (land of the cute little east asian lady dragons) and it could be habit forming and you may not want to return to your home country no more …

I’m coming in September, too. Let’s do a meet up, yo. Or maybe Maoman can organize a Happy Hour? :bravo:

sounds good

I would normally have something to say or a recommendation for the school I am working at, but since I just got shafted them, I’m going to let someone else wear the top hat and tails for this one.

Well, okay, fine. I will try to keep my bitterness at bay.

Welcometoforumosa.comhereisyourmimosaandiamyourhostImaniOU.