Artificial neural networks

Hey there… So I enjoyed AI when I studied it, many years ago, but I don’t remember anything. Today I run into some deep learning stuff and well, I just want to know how a neural network with only one hidden layer could be trained. I know that wouldn’t be deep learning, but it doesn’t matter. I guess that there are different approaches, involving different math functions and algorithms for coming up with the right weights (starting from supervised vs unsupervised learning), but would love to see something specific and simple.

This topic genuinely interests me, so if there’s anyone who’s into this stuff it would be great to share thoughts and information.

Last Friday I was talking to my slave about something totally unknown to today’s “developers”, expert systems. Back in the day we had to do something at uni with clips, and I was toying with the idea of some implementation from my own… But I’m soooo lazy :smiley:

Will start with this article I guess:

https://ml4a.github.io/ml4a/how_neural_networks_are_trained/

You pretty much answered your own question. The various different training algorithms exist to deal with different problems; it depends what you want the network to achieve and what your data looks like.

If you want to implement a NN from scratch, try gradient backpropagation first. It’s pretty easy.

Do you have some specific project in mind?

No, I just find the whole thing interesting. It kinda makes sense to me although the mathematical aspect of it is overwhelming. I wrote once some short story that was similar in essence to what nn are.

For the expert system I do have a project in mind that would use it (or something close enough), but I lack the motivation to do the code of the app, plus it’s an idea that could be a serious project, paid by the government… If they wanted it and didn’t want to just steal the idea :frowning: