As a non-White non-Anglophone foreigner what should I prepare before my graduation to increase my chance to be hired?

Indonesian here. I’m doing my master’s degree in Central Taiwan and I’m in my last two semesters.

I have a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science, and currently, I’m majoring in Management of Information Systems.

I really want to get into IT auditing or IT consulting or risk management but I’m really lost, I don’t know what should I prepare beforehand.

My mandarin isn’t good enough, so should I enroll in a Chinese language center until I’m good enough? Is that a good investment?

Or should I get an internship? Where can I find internship opportunities in a mainly English speaking company?

I’ve been reading a lot of threads in here and it just hit me all at once that unless I’m a white Anglophone who wants to teach English, then Taiwan isn’t the best place to start your career. To be fair, it’s my fault for not thinking it through before going to Taiwan. I just wanted to escape persecution in my own country & run away to the nearest Asian country where I can be free.

And with the COVID situation going on, I also realized that I only have two options right now, stay in Taiwan, or go back to Indonesia, who isn’t handling the virus well.

I’m just so overwhelmed right now and lost. I’m all ears to any advice you can give.

And I was wondering, if the COVID situation was over, which country would be the best for me to work in? I plan to work my ass off there so I can settle down peacefully.

Thank you so much.

1 Like

unfortunately you’re right on this one

are you the kind of learner who learns languages well in a classroom? If you’re answer is not an emphatic ‘yes’ then it’s a waste of money.

As an English speaker you’ll be able to start in an IT department of a firm with an English language culture. Probably in Taipei though, start sending applications!

Your professors don’t have any connection?

3 Likes