At What Point Does She Just Care About $$$

I’m an early 30s professional who has been in Taipei about 2 years. Haven’t really dated much during this time, and playing the field really isn’t my thing.

Basically, I came here on a pretty nice expat package, which was less than my US salary, but not by much. To ballpark it, I get paid somewhere between 5M to 10M NTD a year.

Anyway, I’ve been seeing this girl for the last 2-3 months, and she would take sometimes several days to a week to respond to messages. We would go on a date every couple weeks. Then, about 2 weeks ago I let my income slip. She’s a normal Taiwanese girl, probably making 40-50k a month. Fuck.

Now she’s pretty much responding to me every day, and is showing some serious interest here. She was interested before, but this just tipped the scales in a way that I didn’t really want.

Did I irrevocably mess this up? Any way to make sure she’s not just gold digging? I messed up. I know it. But I do like this girl for who she is, and I’d really like the feeling to be mutual.

Well the answer is in the post isn’t it. Anyway she sees you as ‘serous’ marriage material now.

There’s like 10 people making 5-10 million Ntd as an employee here haha , that’s some serious salary. I thought I was doing okay and I NEVER tell people what I make
and it’s nothing like that…ur lesson learned the number will be winging its way through all the friends and relatives.

2 Likes

I’m surprised she didn’t take him to the altar same day.

In seriousness though, I had a girl ask me many financial questions on the first date. Apparently the women here are just practical according to my Taiwanese friends . Financial issues are a big part of the decision making process , not just looks and feelings.

PS. Is your company hiring? Ahem ** :slight_smile: