Australian graduating my Masters at the end of 2017, what working opportunities do I have?

Hello everyone! First time poster here.

I am currently at a crossroads in my life. My girlfriend is currently working in Taiwan, with full working rights thanks to being a Taiwanese citizen. I am an Australian, studying a Masters of Chemical Engineering, having completed a Bachelor of Commerce, ready to graduate at the end of 2017.

I would like to know what prospects of work I have in Taiwan into 2018, particularly in terms of long-term employment. I am studying Mandarin all through this year, but only have a very basic understanding and doubt it will be enough for many employers for now. I also have zero experience in formal employment, though from what I understand Masters holders do not need to fulfil the two-year criteria.

I feel that I would be able to get as a job as an English teacher (having four years of part-time work as a high school tutor) quite easily, but I do not want to be doing this for a long period of time, and from what I hear it offers little stability.

Thanks! Any clarity would be much appreciated.

Yeah, you’ll probably end up teaching english (for a while) just because that’s the default option. However if your gf is in Taiwan right now, she should be looking on the job boards (eg., 104.com) to see if anyone needs a chemical engineer. Depending on what your specialty is (polymers? semiconductors? nanotech?), there could well be a big demand for your skills.

Your lack of work experience will be a major problem though, not just for visa reasons. Taiwan is awash with kids with degrees coming out of their ears and no actual skills. You might, unfortunately, have to spend some time getting the necessary experience in Australia; the unpalatable alternative is to accept an entry-level job which will pay peanuts and expose you to the full gamut of dysfunctional Taiwanese-style management.

3 Likes

Better get used to the Kid Castle jingle. :laughing: