Avoidability of setup costs?

I’d like to come and teach in Taiwan, but I’m a little hesitant due to the setup costs.

My financial reality is that I NEED to send home at least USD$700 a month and though I could get away with missing 1 month, that’d likely be the very month that I’d be looking for a school rather than the 1st month I’m earning and truly settling in (setup costs and all).

So my question is this, how hard would it be for me to find a position where there were little or no setup costs, and I’d be earning enough to send money home from the 1st pay day onwards (assuming of course that I get paid)?

I have TEFL, I have a BA, I have 2 years English teaching experience.

Everything I’ve read on forums seems to indicate that just turning up and finding work on spec is still the way to go, but I’m wondering with there evidentally being many bad schools is it really such a risk to arrange a job on-line ahead of departue so you can litterally get down to visa biz right away and be earning ASAP?

cheers
Eat

Even if you have a job lined up before arrival, you’ll still have set-up costs.

First, you’ll probably need to pay for accomodation for your first days/weeks (hotel or hostel). Even if you find a place quickly, you will generally need to pay a deposit (usually 1-2 months’ rent).

Second, many schools start by giving you minimum hours and then adding more over time as new classes start up - and you can’t always trust the “guaranteed 25 teaching hr” promises. The legal minimum is 14 (I think that’s still the case anyway).

Also, you may not get your first paycheck soon enough. I remember it being almost a month before getting my first paycheck (which only covered the first two weeks of pay), and my job was lined up before arriving.

Remember, too, that arriving this time of year (more than 1/2 through the year) means your taxes will be higher (20%) so you need to figure that into your projected income.