[b]I am Chinese. Can I teach English too? Advice![/b]

Hi all,

I know, my topic is kinda out of the blue, but, I really want to know. So, help me out, please.

I have a BA in Management studies with honors from University of Central Florida(USA). But, I am not white/caucasian. I’ve stayed in the USA for like five years. Right now, I am back in my country working in the manufacturing field. My nationality is Singaporean. I was a privtate tutor of literature and now work with people from Mainland China.
I would like to be an English teacher in Taiwan. Can somebody tell me if it is possible.

Oh yeah, if it is possible, can you tell me how I should go about it.

Thanks A Million.

Mano :astonished: :help: :help: :help:

Hey Mano,

I won’t say it is impossible but it won’t be easy. Most ESL schools want someone from the West. You might be able to get some work at a regular cram school (a place that prepares jr. high/high school students for their tests). But there are plenty of locals to teach in that environment.

With the influx of so many foreigners from the West and with the market forces the way they are, I would recommend not giving up your gig to come to try to teach here. I would make the same recommendation to folks from NA and Europe also.

[quote=“Durins Bane”]
With the influx of so many foreigners from the West and with the market forces the way they are, I would recommend not giving up your gig to come to try to teach here. I would make the same recommendation to folks from NA and Europe also.[/quote]

Are you saying that there aren’t too many jobs around at the moment?
Are other gigs better than Taiwan?

What passeport do you hold? If it’s a Singapore passeport, you’ll have an even harder time because you will not be able to get a work permit/ARC as a teacher.

Good luck,
CK