Beat Up By Customs Agent

A friend of mine was just recently assaulted by a customs agent at the overstay office in CKS Airport. It began as an argument over a fine for a day overstay. He got frustrated, put down some change and said it was all he had. As he walked away, the agent threw the change at his back, then ran up behind him, grabbed him by the collar and punched him in the back of the head, then threw him up against the wall, shouting “do you know who I am? I am a customs agent!” He broke away from the guy and ran. There was an airport employee with him who was helping him around the airport and was shocked by the whole incident. Eventually he ran into a couple American businessmen who helped him out and went back to the office. They paid the fine to the agent and he stamped a year ban from the country on my friend’s passport. He wasn’t planning on coming back to Taiwan, but still…

Ever heard of this type of thing happening?

Yah, it happens occassionaly when asshole foreigners hold officials in contempt. WTF was wrong with your friend? He overstayed, refused to pay the full fine and somehow thought it was his right to still pass through customs? He’s lucky he’s not in jail right now as he certainly deserves to be. :loco: :loco:

Amen, it is too bad that Mr. Asshole Foreigner didn’t get it fed to him a bit more. I hate assholes like that.

Yeah, I’m sure he gave the agent some 'tude and I don’t excuse it. I was just wondering if that was standard protocol. Seems like the professional thing to do would be to detain him and make him miss his flight or something like that, etc. Scrapping in the airport tho? C’mon.

I does sound like the Customs agent went a bit overboard, but your friend is a complete mong too.

I really don’t get this thing with so many people overstaying. It’s not like you don’t know in advance when your time is up.