Beginning to learn to read Chinese

I’ve been doing language exchange for several months. I think I can pronounce words in Chinese ok, now. I’m looking at starting to learn to read. I also want to be able to type. I don’t really write in English much, other than to myself and on an occasional piece of paperwork. So I don’t really see the point in learning to write. Learning stroke order, and trying to write neat enough would just take a lot of extra time. Since writing (in elementary school) is the only class I ever failed, I don’t want to spend the time learning to write.

The book I read from for language exchange has the characters, too. But, they seem very complicated to start with. How do people start learning to read? I’ve seen a couple book reviews. Do people just get one of those books and start memorizing? Any suggestions on books that either don’t have stroke order, or don’t use much space on it? I saw a review of one CD-ROM, but I don’t know how useful spending that extra money is, since I don’t want to learn to write.

Also, if anyone has a critique of my opinion of learning to write, I’d appreciate that, too.

Oh, I know pinyin and BPMF. I like the idea of using BPMF to learn to read, since that’s what people here use to learn how to say the symbols.

Yeah, basically… :slight_smile: That, plus reinforced learning by seeing the same characters over & over again each day. You eventually learn to recognize the ones you use/see/need most often, then grow from there.