Being An Asian English Teacher

Is anyone here an Asian person teaching English?

I was born and educated in the U.S, this is my first time in Asia and I’ve been told by a recruiter that it will be very difficult for me to find employment as an English teacher due to people’s prejudice.

Can anyone tell me if this is true? I’d appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

[quote=“jenigyrl”]Is anyone here an Asian person teaching English?

I was born and educated in the U.S, this is my first time in Asia and I’ve been told by a recruiter that it will be very difficult for me to find employment as an English teacher due to people’s prejudice.

Can anyone tell me if this is true? I’d appreciate any advice.

Thanks![/quote]

Hi jenigyrl. It can be a challenge. A close friend of mine was born in Taiwan and raised in South Africa and the Eastern US. Send me a PM if you want me to put you in touch with him. He’s been quite successful, but he’s truly bilingual and is an excellent, charismatic teacher.

If we are thinking about the same teacher Tomas, I can also vouch for his success.

Yeah, you’ll have a tougher time.

As for advice, need more information. What qualifications do you have? What are you looking for here?

[quote=“jenigyrl”]Is anyone here an Asian person teaching English?

I was born and educated in the U.S, this is my first time in Asia and I’ve been told by a recruiter that it will be very difficult for me to find employment as an English teacher due to people’s prejudice. [/quote]
Nitpicking, but you’re an American who looks like an Asian, not an Asian. This will of course mean that you’re expected to behave like a local and work for local rates.