Being nonbinary in Taipei.

Hello everyone!

I’m an AFAB nonbinary/genderqueer English teacher here in Taipei. I’ve been here for a few months, and I’m getting tired of living as a woman. I’m able to dress masculine with no problem, but I’ve considered asking my coworkers to use my pronouns (they/them). Is this a realistic thing to do here in Taipei? My American coworkers struggle with it back home. My school is also really focused on bringing up their numbers and I’m afraid they’ll be worried that having an openly trans teacher will hurt their enrollment. Maybe that’s paranoid?

Also, are there any regular meet ups for nonbinary folks here in Taipei? I’m constantly being misgendered and I’d love to find a time/place to be around fellow NB/Genderqueer peeps.

It’s too progressive for Taiwan. The parents would go crazy.

2 Likes

To be honest, I think it would be hard for the school and parents to be accepting of this.

1 Like

It’s not like they don’t have a problem with pronouns as it is.

12 Likes

Actually, I knew a guy who was transitioning. Used to wear a dress around town. I believe he moved down to some school in Miaoli and did quite well for himself. He was completely bald as well.

There’s a law that prohibits discrimination based on “gender or sexual orientation” (性別或性傾向), and each city has a gender equality committee to handle complaints. I suspect most of the cases they look at involve maternity leave or sexual harassment.

Yeah–my wife won’t even use my preferred pronouns! She tends to swap “he” and “she” interchangeably.

1 Like