Best places for (non-teaching) expat work outside Taipei

When I lived in Taiwan, I worked as an English teacher and then a technical writer in Taipei County and Taipei City. I’m hoping to move back in a year and I’d really like to make a fresh start somewhere new more peaceful with a lower cost of living. I might even go and study Chinese for a semester to get back to my old level and look for a job while I’m there in the same area.

I’m a career technical writer with an MA in linguistics and, by the time I go back I’ll also have a CertHE in computer science (CertHE is a UK university-level qualification which is worth less than a degree). I’m happy to continue doing technical writing, but I’d also be happy to do anything else that doesn’t require Chinese proficiency, aside from English teaching.

Do big cities like Tainan, Taichung, and Kaohsiung have demand for non-Chinese speaking expats and tech professionals? I believe I’ve heard that Hsinchu and Taoyuan have lots of jobs? Anywhere else I should consider?

Are you going to try for the Gold card? If you can “figure out” a category to apply through, it is definitely worth it - 3 years ARC, all family covered, and an Open work permit. And that is followed by being able to apply (after 3 years) for an APRC.

How long did you live in Taiwan previously? And how long have you been away, and what have you been doing for work? The only reason I ask is for the Gold Card which requires 4+ years of Professional experience.

I am also thinking of moving back (with my family ) in about 5 years. I am interested in hearing about your experience moving back, and your motivation for doing so.

at this moment, it is still 5 years, I think.

Even for the Gold card? Or is that among the proposed changes that are still being considered in the Legislative Yuan?

I think so.

From my experience very few non English teaching office jobs outside of North Taiwan. Even if you did manage to find one pay is likely to be low or very low.