Best School for Chinese Director / Manager

I am a regular poster. I have created a new ID for privacy reasons.

My manager will be leaving my school soon. She and I get on well (no smart coments!) and she has asked me to enquire which schools (if any) she should bother her arse to apply to. I say “bother her arse” because she would quite happily give it all up tomorrow. However, she is an ex-teacher herself, and is an excellent manager (in terms of dealing with the foreign teachers, and the BS from head office {it is a chain}).

The school is an “American” style chain school consisting of kindergartens and elementary school age classes.

As a foreign teacher, I have no idea about terms and conditions for Chinese teachers, and wonder do any of you lot. My manager’s English is excellent and she knows a great deal about second language acquisition. She is also very down to earth, and understands and sympathises with concerns foreign teachers at my school have raised about curricular issues. She leaves the school on good terms, and has given generous notice, and indeed has been asked to stay on.

In my opinion it would be a terrible waste if she were to leave the industry altogether, and I have a feeling she would like to continue as a school manager in different circumstances. She has asked me for advice and I would like to be able to give her advice, but unfortunately I am in the dark in this regard.

I am aware she has contacts in the industry, but they would appear to be leading to “more of the same”.

In short, I have an excellent and successful manager, and I would like to help her find a new job. I should stress that I have been in Taiwan quite a while, am not a wide-eyed moron, and would not be going to all this trouble if this were not an exceptional manager.

Thanks in advance

Anonymouse

I would suggest staying away from chain schools…she doesn’t sound like a “Yes” person.