Bicycle Industry in Taiwan

Anyone work in the bicycle industry in Taiwan? I’m an American and I speak pretty good Japanese and I’m studying Chinese here for a year now on scholarship; I’m wondering if it might be possible to get started with a career at one of the big companies that make bikes here and sell them abroad: e.g. Specialized, Giant, etc. Of course, I’m an avid cyclist (road). So if you have any knowledge of the industry here and whether or not there are opportunities for foreigners with Chinese ability, please share.

I have no idea, but I bet if you contacted James Murray at Warehouse 185 in Taichung, he’d be able to answer your question. He’s the only expat I know who’s broken into the bike industry here, and he’s a really nice guy.

I met a group a foreigners who worked in the bicycle industry. They all worked in Taichung. That seems to be the place to look, but I’m not in touch with them anymore.

What would be your area of expertise? Would you design the bikes, market them, or clean the office?

I’ve been in the bike industry here for almost 10 years and offhand I think of about 10-15 other foreigners who are based here in Taichung working full time for bike companies in various roles. There are doubtless a few more than that island wide and lot more who aren’t based here but visit as required to liaise with suppliers or co-workers. Honestly said, of all the foreign folks I know who work in the industry, mostly industrial designers, sales & marketing managers, engineers, sourcing & purchasing managers, business owners/entrepreneurs, product/brand managers and even riders/journalists, I can’t think of one who was hired primarily because they could speak Chinese and in fact I know quite a few who can’t speak Chinese at all.