Bigger Bike

I’ve been riding a 150cc Sym for the last 6 months or so and am thinking about getting a larger bike, probably 250cc, maybe bigger if it doesn’t require a mortgage.

So the questions:

1. How much should i expect to pay for a good 250cc bike
  2. Is the standard bike test valid for bikes over 250cc

Thanks
Stuart

a 250cc scooter can be picked up for between 140,000 - 180,000 new…
250cc bikes (gear) range from 210,000 for a vtr250 to about 270,000 for a hornet250 (my bike)…

2nd hand of course is cheaper…

your standard licence allows up to 250cc… you need the bigger licence if you want to ride a yellow plate…

The baby Hornet should be cheaper than NT$270K… I’ve seen them in showrooms marked NT$255k and that’s for an '06 model, before negotiation… if you look around and bargain hard you could get a brand new box fresh '05 for about NT$220k on the road… or you could get a brand new CB400 for about NT$300k!..

Road tax and license tax for 250cc’s are very low, fractionally more than 150cc’s and you don’t need any special licences to ride them…

hmm… last time i looked they were 270,000… guess the prices have dropped again… i haven’t been bike shopping in 10 months (since i got mine)… mine was 280,000 after all on road costs and few little pieces…

If you’re looking to sell the 150, send me an email.

leehalpert@gmail.com

@ StuartCa
My suggestion: Buy a real big one (>= 600ccm) or keep your 150. If you settle with an ‘intermediate solution’ - e.g. with a CB400 - I am almost certain that after a couple of months you will be looking for something bigger. In my eyes and not bad but also rather cheap (new: NT$ 350,000, 2nd hand >= NY$ 200,000) is the Kawasaki ZR-7S. UKbikerchick has it and I had it till 2 years ago.

Or if you want really cheap speed (compared to the NT200,000+ to buy a 250cc), try a Honda NSR150.

tw.f3.page.bid.yahoo.com/tw/auction/c21786903

That one is modded… looks pretty tasty :sunglasses: