Building Speed for Wrestling

My second oldest kid is 15 and a high school junior varsity wrestler. He’ll wrestle in the 171 pound weight class next season, which will be his second season.

He’s stronger than most of his opponents, has good endurance, plays the mind game well, and is rapidly improving his technical skills. The one area he feels he needs to build is his speed, his reaction time. He told me that he feels that most of the matches he lost last season were because the other guy was faster than he was on the mat.

For those of you with wrestling experience or general knowledge of this subject, what exercises or sports can my boy do in the off-season to enhance his speed? He’s doing some kind of workout program called P90X that he feels is helping, but I wonder what else he can do?

Cheers,

Tomas

He should watch Vision Quest once a week! :thumbsup:

He feels that P90X is helping? Interesting, but if he feels it works…

I’m no expert in speed but if it were me, I would be doing a jump squat workout to build explosive ability into the legs.

Ideally he has access to a mat and one or more practice partners during the off season. In my experience the best prep for a wrestler is mat time. If you son wants to quicken his moves on the mat, I would suggest repetitious drills that practice 2-3 moves in sequence. Wrestler’s with quick reaction time are universally reacting instinctively, and aggressively. They are using moves they know so well, there is no thinking involved. Just pure, aggressive action.

youtube.com/watch?v=olpmZTFo … r_embedded
youtube.com/watch?v=TVwAJzU3 … r_embedded
youtube.com/watch?v=qf0eKJfT … r_embedded

[quote=“Formosa Fitness”]He feels that P90X is helping? Interesting, but if he feels it works…

I’m no expert in speed but if it were me, I would be doing a jump squat workout to build explosive ability into the legs.[/quote]