Business in Bicycles

Hey everyone, I am a physics graduate from Lancaster University, UK looking to start a business in bicycles in Taiwan. I am an Indian national and have been living in the UK for 6 years now. I have a just discovered a niche in bicycles which I want to try out in Taiwan… Over the past few months I have been researching about the bicycle industry in Taiwan, and without a doubt it stands out to be one of the best in the world.

The other reason I am looking to move to Taiwan is that I am fed up of the western way of life. Being an avid reader of Confucian and Taoist texts, I find it very difficult to harmonise and apply ancient teachings in western society. Knowing that China is heading in the same direction, there are only few places left in the world who still value ancient way of life. My research also led me to find out that Taiwan is putting massive efforts in bringing back Confucian culture. This is music to my ears and I want to be a part of this movement.

Current difficulties that I am facing at the moment, is to find out what visas would I require to start my own business in Taiwan? Secondly if I do start my business can I be self-employed and self-independant? Or do I have to employ Taiwanese nationals to comply with visa rules? What would be the best way to live and work in Taiwan if business route turns out to be very expensive? I have already tried applying for teaching jobs but it is very difficult to get into teaching if you don’t look like a westerner. Even though I have lived and worked in the UK and I sound like a northerner, it is still not convincing enough. I am really looking forward to change my life around and do some good in the world. Anything that could help me be in Taiwan at this point would really make a difference. Will look forward to your reply.

Thanks in advance