Camera problems

i got excited at the thought of taking photos, and went out and bought a lense for an old camera i got from my uncle. problem was the camera and lense are a different brand, so they dont work together. the lense is new, but i cant use it. it is a tamron 17-35mm. but the store wont take it back. i am a complete beginner, so i dont know how cameras and lenses work. ive been doing some reading, and i feel very silly knowing what i know now. would any body be interested in this lense, this being a photo thread and all?

What brand is the lens for? Which camera did you buy? You should have brought the lens with you when you bought the camera to test it out. Any semi-knowledgeable camera salesperson would have sorted you out.

Tamron is a 3rd party lens manufacturer, which means that they don’t make cameras themselves, but rather lenses for other cameras. A Tamron 17-35 made for Nikon won’t fit on a Canon body, etc.

What brand is the lens for? Which camera did you buy? You should have brought the lens with you when you bought the camera to test it out. Any semi-knowledgeable camera salesperson would have sorted you out.

Tamron is a 3rd party lens manufacturer, which means that they don’t make cameras themselves, but rather lenses for other cameras. A Tamron 17-35 made for Nikon won’t fit on a Canon body, etc.[/quote]

I guees it’s the other way around … he got the cam and bought the lens … :slight_smile: but anyhow, what body is the lens for? What ‘old’ cam do you have?

[quote]Love the composition of that xylophone pic, DM, but the lighting seems strange. The shadows look like a strong afternoon light, but the brightness is a bit muted.
[/quote]

Yes, I actually agree with you. It was actually night-time when I took that, and the light is from one of those white flourescent-tube streetlights you can find dotted around Taiwan, which probably explains the strange lighting.- probably a white balance issue.