Can Hass avocadoes be grown in Taiwan?

I’m assuming they can’t. Does anyone know why not?

4 Likes

1 Like

I appreciate that there are pussies in Taiwan, thanks for the confirmation. However, why aren’t Hass avocadoes grown?

I’m no expert. Are these Hass?

I’ve no idea beyond the papaya

Hass Avocados are patented

The patent must have expired by now. Or is it different in the US?

patents are only valid in the country it’s patented in.

If it’s not patented in Taiwan, it’s fair game.

Probably expired by now, but there may be regulations about growing non-native species of plants. You would probably need proper permission from the agriculture department.

Yeah, it must be down to some internal political issue. Growers of local avocadoes refuse to change, or something.

It’s weird, because Taiwan has the water. Hass would be an export goldmine

Avocado grow here.

Have seen Hass imported here as fruit, so probably not a pathogen risk. Although avocado do have diseases.

My guess is that it simply comes down to economics. What is better to the farmer? 5 tonnes or 30 tonnes? The local varieties produce FAR more quantity. And this overwhelmingly describes the lions share of fruit production commercially in Taiwan. size, shelf life and disease resistant. flavor comes after.

If I were a betting man, that’s my bet.

But, there are people growing hass, and other western varieties here (from scions, not seeds). they just arent commercially grown (yet). no idea if they will be in the future. I suspect not really unless all the farms throughout the Americas turn to deserts.

Edit. Iwould be interested if parents exist here aswell. I sort of doubt it, but it isnt crazy expensive here (i think 20 or 30k nt/year).

My guess is the only one interested in patentingtthe variety here would be the contract holder for imports, and i doubt they care enough.