Can I build a life in Taiwan?

Hey there everyone,

Been flicking through the posts and thread and thought I would join.

So Im a newbie from Aus

Im currently 20 years old, finished high school and deferred from Uni for 2 years.
I think it would be best for me to leave and start anew, give myself a chance to change who I am and challenge myself.
So Im looking to start live fresh in Taiwan… Ive always loved Asian culture and was either planing to finish my degree here and go to Hong Kong or alternatively move to Taiwan within the next few months.

As mentioned above, I would like to start fresh…so going to Taiwan soon is what I would like…

My plan so far is to go to Taiwan and study Chinese language (at MLC) for a year or so to become as fluent possible in the language.

From there, I can then enrol at a University in Taiwan and start building a career and life in Taiwan. Doing a Bachelors Degree in Finance and look at getting regular employment in Taiwan with other Taiwanese citizens.

My question to all of you:

Most of you live in Taiwan, is my goal feasible? Can a foreigner become employed like every other citizen? Would you recommend for or against it?

Teaching would not be something I would look at doing career wise and it seems like a competitive industry. It would be something I would do whilst studying to pay bills and support myself. Not to mention I dont have a Bachelors yet :stuck_out_tongue:

With that, is teaching English the only way I will be able to support myself whilst studying? Can my English “”skills”” be used elsewhere?

Any help or advice much appreciated, :slight_smile:

bnn

I do not believe you would earn enough teaching to fund your studies. I doubt you could legally teach anyways as you don’t have a degree which is a requirement, and finding other work would not be easy.

What you want to do is possible, but would be quite difficult. You would need a good amount of funds to pay for tuition and living costs first.