Can I work legally with a student visa?

I am presently in Japan, but plan on making the move to Taipei in March.

I have a 4 year degree, so I’d be entitled to a proper work visa (from what I’ve read on these boards).

If I sign up for an intensive Chinese class and get a student visa am I permitted to work p-t?

I was just thinking since I’ve been here 7 freaking years and NOT mastered the language that it might be a good idea to start with Chinese right away.

[quote=“tealady”]I am presently in Japan, but plan on making the move to Taipei in March.

I have a 4 year degree, so I’d be entitled to a proper work visa (from what I’ve read on these boards).

If I sign up for an intensive Chinese class and get a student visa am I permitted to work p-t?

I was just thinking since I’ve been here 7 freaking years and NOT mastered the language that it might be a good idea to start with Chinese right away.[/quote]

I believe that if you sign up to study in a University program, after a few months yes, you can teach. Normally though, no.

BTW, there is no such animal as a student visa; it’s a visitor’s visa, and last I knew, could be extended up to 6 months.

But, it’s not like some people don’t study and work anyway…up to you and your level of risk aversion. :slight_smile:

peace
jds
:rainbow:

As far as I know only after having studied for 12 months.
Check out this site:

mtc.ntnu.edu.tw/tandt.html

I get an ARC through my school. I have to get a new one once a year. How is this different than a “student visa”?