Can we find any food that is not fried in Taiwan?

Because im a poor student :smiley: , i usually go to the lunchbox vendors near my school, and the food is usually really good.

But due to health concerns, I dont want to keep eating fried food.

But when I asked my Taiwanese friends about alternatives, they looked at me funny, and said, everything here is cooked in oil (no help there) :bow:

Does anyone know of any good places in Kaohsiung where someone can find non fried food (ie chicken, turkey, vegetables, etc)

Thanks.

Foods here can be steamed, boiled, sauteed (stir fried) or deep fried. There’s plenty of the first three (although the cheapest biandang places may mostly feature fried), and you might want to learn the names of typical dishes in those categories so that you can order them. How’s your Chinese? You may also want to learn how to ask what a shop has that is not fried, e.g., in Hanyu Pinyin transcription of Mandarin here:

“qing3wen4, ni3men2 you3 shen2me bu2 shi4 zha4de?” (What do y’all have that isn’t deep fried?)

“you3 zheng1de shi2wu4 ma?” (Got anything steamed?)
“you3 zhu3de ma?” (boiled?)
“you3 jian1de ma?” (sauteed)
“you3 chao3de ma?” (stir-fried)

Consider avoiding the cheapest biandang shops, as they are the ones that have the greasiest fried crap. Sit-down places with menus offer more choice, as does cooking for yourself. Hopefully some of our Gaoxiong posters can name some spots for you.

my Chinese sucks… i study at NSYSU (Jhongshan Da Shua) but only for 1 month, plus I am a slower learner :smiley:

Thanks for the help

1. mangoes
  2. soup
  3. yoghurt

You can find food that is fried in Japan.

1. sushi express
  2. mos burger burgers(the unfried ones) and salads

you can go to any night market,there are so many kinds of food over there.
the most famouse night market it might be liu he night market.(六和夜市)
you can take bus or KMRT
it’s very convenient.