Career-wise, the benefits of our Taiwan experience are...?

Curious to see what kind of opinions are out there regarding this issue. I have been working in Taiwan full-time as an editor for nearly 6 years now. It’s been very worthwhile, both financially and for the work experience, but I think it’s about time to head home. I am currently updating my resume, plus planning for the eventual move back to Canada. Would like to hear from people who have worked professional jobs in Taiwan, then returned to seek work in their home countries – the job-hunting experience, what employers were impressed by, how to best promote yourself, challenges upon returning, etc. If you have some experience or wisdom to share here, please post a reply. Thanks :slight_smile:

~ Mengkai

[quote=“MengKai”]Curious to see what kind of opinions are out there regarding this issue. I have been working in Taiwan full-time as an editor for nearly 6 years now. It’s been very worthwhile, both financially and for the work experience, but I think it’s about time to head home. I am currently updating my resume, plus planning for the eventual move back to Canada. Would like to hear from people who have worked professional jobs in Taiwan, then returned to seek work in their home countries – the job-hunting experience, what employers were impressed by, how to best promote yourself, challenges upon returning, etc. If you have some experience or wisdom to share here, please post a reply. Thanks :slight_smile:

~ Mengkai[/quote]
The fact that you have overseas work experience makes your resume stand out. The cross-cultural experience and the ability to speak another language is often appreciated by potential employers.

on the other hand, a friend of mine was asked what he had been doing for the past 5 years. when he said teaching language in taiwan, they said that doesn’t count!