Cars and Taxi Drivers

I’m pretty new to Taipei City but am used to cycling on city streets. It seems like drivers (taxi’s especially) often crowd the curb or any free space on the right of the road and usually end up cutting me off even if traffic is moving relatively smoothly, forcing me to slow down and pass on the left. Is that a thing here or am I just imagining things? Half of the time it’s because they’re getting ready for a right turn and I’m wary of that but other times it seems deliberate. Is it?

Welcome to Taiwanese driving!!! :slight_smile:

I rode a bike for years in Taiwan and got forced of the road more times than I can remember. I even got knocked off my bike a few times and was left on the roadside bleeding, the guilty party looking back and just continuing on.

Having said that, once I bought a car my stress levels on the road went up exponentially. I will never complain about drivers anywhere else after living in Taiwan (unless I move to India or Vietnam)! :bow:

When in Rome, swerve like the Romans do. Often and without scruples.

You’ll get used to riding on the sidewalk, in the fast lane and left turn lanes, and sometimes against traffic. It’s just how they roll here.

Good to know. I’m sure I’ll get accustomed to it but knowing that’s just how things are will help me be more alert and roll with the punches. Appreciate the viewpoint.