Checklist for coming to Taiwan with 90 day Visa-exemption

I’m a U.S. resident and passport holder and I’ve accepted a job as an English teacher in Taichung. I’m arriving at the Taoyuan airport sometime in late August. I’m trying to clear up a few things (this is my first time flying out of the country)…

a) I’m going to buy a ticket from Taipei to Manila as proof as my intention to depart Taiwan in 90 days. I’m not going to purchase a ticket out of Manila, which would be required of me if I really were planning on traveling there. The reason I bring this up, is because I have read that technically I am supposed to not only have a confirmed onward flight out of Taiwan, but also meet the Visa requirements for the destination to which I’m flying (which for the Philippines would be to have a confirmed onward flight out of there within 21 days).

b) Proof of funds? Do they really check? If so, what’s the most efficient way? Have a money order?

c) Will I need passport photos?

d) Basically, if anyone would chime in with their thoughts on what I should expect/prepare for, as well as maybe a checklist of things I will (and will not) need, that would be greatly appreciate!

I am a EU citizen, but I believe the same rules apply to you guys when it come to visa-exempt entry. Here is the checklist that worked for me 10+ times

-Passport with at least 6 month of validity

-myself in a presentable state

The end.

^^What he said (I think Novaspes is a he?)

You’re doing your homework and staying on top of things, which is commendable and will help you during your stay in Taiwan. The process at Immigration will take all of a few seconds, so you can relax.

a) All they care about is that outward ticket, if they even check. Do make sure your passport has at least 6 months of validity.

b) Proof of funds is only required for a visitor’s visa. Not applicable for visa exempt entry.