Chinese Learning Software

I have been searching for years for software with a flash card feature for learning to read new characters and relearning characters that I have forgotten. Is there one that someone can recommend for the intermediate to advanced level? Umm…maybe I need to also review all of the basic characters too since it has been a long time since I studied Chinese.

I know of two ways to handle this:

1. Get a flash card program and put in the characters yourself. I used to use “WordLearn” from some outfit in Germany (you can find it on the Net) although it’s a bit difficult to register (he wants only certain types of currency or payments, none of which were readily available in TW. Some have reported that you can simply turn your computer’s clock back to defeat his copy protection, but you didn’t hear it from me.) Time-consuming, but OK. This was for PC.

For the Palm, I use “SuperMemo” which is a very sophisticated flash card program with a good algorithm determining how frequently cards are shown to you in “tests” or “drills”. You can have a large number of different “decks” – divide by subject, source, or whatever. If you want to go this route, we can always divide up the work of inputting characters based on some agreed-upon list, becuase I would probably use them too, and others would as well. This is currently my main method of vocab acquisition and it works very well for me.

1. There’s another Palm program called FlashZi (freeware I believe) available at the evil empire of palmgear.com . A friend of mine is using it and likes it very much. The algorithm is a bit clunky and not nearly as smooth as SuperMemo, but then again the characters and other info is already input which is a major plus. Basically you have to indicate which group of 10 characters you want to drill or test at any given time, which for me is too predictable, but hey, it’s free. Since I can’t write anything better, I shouldn’t criticize.