Complete beginner to scooter license. How long?

I have never had a car, motorcycle or scooter license. I have rode a scooter before on an island in Thailand, where I crashed it. I would like to get my scooter license here in Taiwan. As a complete beginner, how long will it realistically take me to learn, and pass the test? I have a lot of free time.

A week. But then a year to feel comfortable on the road. In that year you will have a few crashes. Hopefully not too big.

2 Likes

How intense is the test?

The riding part is a challenge.

Is there a written exam for the scooter test?

I’ve never had a crash and put 50000k on in 5 years. Maybe dumb luck but I just kept my eye out for bad drivers and so far so good

My three main suggestions for new drivers.

People can pop out of nowhere without them looking so beware of the obasan going the wrong way from a side street. Why? because screw you that’s why, they’re old and they have places to be.

You are responsible for whatever happens in front of you. Even if an old lady cuts you off from the side road, if you hit her you will be at fault. That old lady’s been cutting people off for years and by some stroke of fate she’s still alive, she’s not going to start looking now. For some weird reason many people don’t care about what happens behind them nor will check their mirrors. They figure that’s your problem.

And finally there is No such thing as right of way. Biggest vehicle wins… know the pecking order or you’ll get run over by a gravel truck, Cletus driving a blue truck, or that taxi that just stopped for a bottle of Gaoliang and betel nut 5 minutes before.

As far as the test it’s easy. Drive around a loop in so many seconds without touching the side lines, stop for a pedestrian crossing (that once you pass the test you will never stop for again practically but not legally speaking) , stop at a railway crossing, and drive without stopping or putting your foot down except for the crossings. Ez peasy.