Computer tech help

okay…i dunno anything about the computer sales industry in taiwan.

but my boyfriend is a a computer tech person for IBM …so do you think he can do anything with his computer skills…in terms of maybe helping out the english speaking community in taiwan…in terms of computer tech support or setting up ppl’s computers? is there a market for this?

:roflmao:

I think that’s a fairly astute analysis of the situation. I will give you an example from my experience. I once went to work in a purely English language related role in a local law firm. After a few days it came to arranging a work permit. I think I was to be getting about 75K for regular hours. On the eighth day the firm asked me if I was a qualified solicitor in my home jurisdiction with two year’s post qualified experience (because then the work permit would be for a foreign lawyer, which is the only category they could get). Not once had it occurred to them that a qualified foreign attorney with 2 years’ PQE would be commanding a salary of well in excess of USD50k a year plus benefits. The moral of the story is that to a local firm you are just a generic, one-size-fits-all foreigner. To them a Harvard JD with 20 years’ experience is identical to a 21 year old fresh graduate with a BA Basket Weaving with Origami. All that matters is that you speak English. (BTW the local firm in question were very nice about it all, and paid me over the odds for my time, but “sorry no we can’t get you a work permit”)

I knew no foreigners getting paid what their job was worth who worked for local firms.

Two comments: