Concept 2 'Erg' Rower

I’m trying to source a Concept 2 Rowing Machine here in Taiwan at a reasonable price.

There IS a Concept 2 Distributor in Taipei but they want 68,000NT for the D model which I can get in the US for $1000

Would anyone recommend importing one into Taiwan?

Logic dictates that I will get hammered on customs and duty not to mention transport however, I’ve had some experience recently where some clients of mine imported several sets of scuba gear into Taiwan from an online company in the USA and it turned out to be very much cheaper than purchasing the same models and brands locally.

Seems that if you buy online these days, you won’t get charged any US state tax since its being shipped out of country.

This tax savings tends to take care of duty and then you just have to cover shipping which I imagine I could do by ship.

Any comments or ideas perhaps?

Thanks in advance

We have two of them and you won’t get a cheaper price. Shipping is outrageous. You’ll pay more in shipping than the rower costs. I recommend you simply save up money if they’re that valuable to you. Or you could join our gym and use them anytime you want. :slight_smile:

Thanks for the reply Formosa Fitness.

I’ve got an email into the Concept 2 to ask if their D model machine can be divided into two boxes for shipping where each box is less than 23KG (the maximum allowable weight by the airline I’ll be travelling on this summer back to Canada).

If its possible, I’m thinking that there would be a slight charge for over-sized baggage (since one box must be at least 56 inches in length) but perhaps it wouldn’t break the bank so much.

Even if I could grab one for 1200USD its still half of what they are charging for here in Taiwan.

I see that you have the E models. Do your clients like them?

I’m trying to pick up a D model which is closer to the ground.