Correct Character Encoding

Sorry if that has been covered before, I tried to do a search and couldn’t find the answer.
Normally my computer displays characters fine, but sometimes certain websites and software comes out garbled. This is especially common with website headers and software dialogue boxes. It is very frustrating. Is there any obvious solution I am missing?
I am using Vista and Firefox 3.0.3
Thanks…

I do not have exact answers to your question, but my recent experiences have given me sufficient time to draw my own conclusions about why these problems continue to happen, and why there is no easy fix.

To better qualify my answers, here is list of PC systems, servers and applications that I use for development:

Red Hat Enterprise Linux WS4 (PC and server)

• apache2, php 4, mysql 5.1, subversion 1.4, zendStudio 5,5, firefox 2, scim 1.4
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux WS3 (server)
    Windows XP SP2 (PC)

I had many problems when I started learning Chinese to be able to correctly write in Traditional Chinese on Linux. There is a lot of good information here on forumosa.com and linuxquestions.org about how to configure a computer to enter Chinese. Originally, I used Windows XP for writing Chinese, it was just simpler at that time.

Definitions:

Unicode: defines a mapping of all characters/words to a machine readable number (more than one million), each number is called a ‘code point’. Unicode does not define character encodings.

Encoding: a system of storing Unicode code points. Common encodings are: ucs-2 = utf-16 (windows xp & vista), utf-8 (RHEL WS4 Linux), big5 (traditional chinese), … ascii.

utf-8 Encoding: Each unicode code point is stored in 8 bit bytes. Every code point 0-127 is stored in a single byte. Only code points 128+ are stored using 2,3 … upto 6 bytes. This means English looks the same in utf-8 as it did in ascii, and its file size remains nearly the same.