Cost of living?

I was wondering, because I am moving to taiwan in less than 2 months (going to mainland china in 8 days, then taiwan in late august)…what is the cost of living in taiwan? bars, clubs, food, etc…I am from los angeles which is pretty damn expensive if you actually want to live anywhere near the city (a studio in the ghetto is like a grand US a month), is taipei comparable? I already have my housing set up, but was wondering about general costs of socializing, eating, etc (I am studying, not working)

I am asking this because I realize cost of living indexes, (the ones you find online) are complete bullshit…they dont take into account “off limit zones”, aka LA on average might be cheap compared to tokyo or somewhere, but the vast majority of cheap places are in such bad neighborhoods (gang territory, hardcore drugdealing, etc) that most foreigners or people in their right mind would never live there…I want a realistic idea of how much dough I am going to have to shell out in taipei