Cram school gives too few hours - what are my options?

I’m new in Taiwan. I signed a contract with a buxiban in Miaoli and rented an affordable apartment. I have a work permit and will be receiving my ARC soon.

The teaching is fine and so are the coworkers. The job on paper looked to be decent, 65-70k-ish.

But the problem is that the school isn’t giving me the 25-28 hours/week expected on paper. I’m getting 21.5/week… So I’m bracing for pay that’s barely over 50k, and that’s also before the 18% tax for new arrivals.

My first salary payment will be disappointing, and I’m considering my options. Of course I’ll be asking the school whether more teaching hours are a possibility.

1. Is getting into online teaching hard? I’ve mostly done classroom teaching before, but language exchange chats have gone well so far. My weekends and evenings from 7:30 are free.

2. Would my cram school permit me, if I were to negotiate with another school to teach in my off time? I saw another school offer higher hourly rate than my school on FB.

3. If I do end up having to find a different job, is it easy to transfer work permit and ARC to another employer?

Find a filler school and get it added to your ARC and/or talk to the other foreigners in your area to see what they do. Your first year here will be a lot of finding out how to navigate the truly legal ways to work within the system that is the buxiban world. It’s your first year, don’t expect to buy all the options on a Tesla.

6 Likes

That’s good advice, thank you. Yes, I know the first year will be tight. And the buxiban I’m with isn’t too bad. I’ll figure out how I can supplement my income. I know some local foreigners on FB too.

Illegal.

Online teaching and private teaching outside of your work-permit issued employer(s) is prohibited.

Get married and switch to a JFRV based ARC and you’ll have open work rights.

1 Like