Curious about salary in IT (networking and network security)

I used to work as a network administrator for about 5 years (4 in the military) I had the Cisco networking and switching cert as well as security+. This was now 8 years ago. I’m certain I can repass those exams if I take them.

I’m wondering if there’s any money in it here? Are the salaries higher? Currently teaching public school. My university degrees are in psychology. But if I can work a higher salary in IT while working on my PhD, maybe it’s better to switch back to my old job?

What do the typical salaries look like for this in Taipei?

2 Likes

In my experience:

Entry level: $40,000 pm
1-2 years experience: $60,000 pm
5 years experience: $75,000 - $125,000 pm

All NT dollars.

But this is highly dependent on the company, particular role, and skills of the applicant.

I’ve also seen people pass this pay threshold considerably with less than 5 years experience.

@olm may be able to offer his insight?

1 Like

Have a read here, somewhat similar:

2 Likes

Wow so it’s basically the same as English teaching if not lower

Thank you I’ll read through these. I appreciate it

This stuff starts with English teaching salaries, but goes up. There is no room for upward mobility in a cram school short of owning one.

4 Likes

Or public school either. The worst part is public teachers aren’t eligible for government pension since you have continuously resign contracts each year. The pay scale only goes up very little every year and is capped pretty low (though the bonus, free flights and 10,000 extra a month for housing does help)

Yeah. Office work starts off slow, but picks up with experience. It also transfers over to other jobs both in and out of TW.

So is it low if you have previous experience? Or would the large gap make me basically start over?