Degree requirements for teaching

I’m a university student with junior standing, and I’ll be coming over to Taiwan for the summer to study Chinese. I was hoping I could take a TEFL course and work part time as a substitute, but I read that you need an Associate’s or Bachelor’s before you can teach English. Can I substitute my 2 years of degree work for the AS/AA, as long as I have the TEFL certification?

If not, what are my options for getting part-time work? I’d really like to work this summer instead of having to bum more money off of my parents when autumn rolls around - just dropping the $1000 for the plane ticket to Asia cleaned out my bank account pretty good. :laughing: Since I don’t have any long-term plans to stay in Taiwan, I’d even be willing to consider working under the table, as long as it wasn’t too likely that I’d get picked up.

[quote=“krapht”]I’m a university student with junior standing, and I’ll be coming over to Taiwan for the summer to study Chinese. I was hoping I could take a TEFL course and work part time as a substitute, but I read that you need an Associate’s or Bachelor’s before you can teach English. Can I substitute my 2 years of degree work for the AS/AA, as long as I have the TEFL certification?

If not, what are my options for getting part-time work? I’d really like to work this summer instead of having to bum more money off of my parents when autumn rolls around - just dropping the $1000 for the plane ticket to Asia cleaned out my bank account pretty good. :laughing: Since I don’t have any long-term plans to stay in Taiwan, I’d even be willing to consider working under the table, as long as it wasn’t too likely that I’d get picked up.[/quote]

:unamused:

Part time for your visa status is illegal. Substitute teaching for your visa status is illegal. Do it and you are taking a gamble of deportation. End of story.