Delicate situation

I have a class with a couple of taiwanese adolescents girls and one of them seems to be suffering quite a case of gender confusion. It’s not hard to see why as she does have a sort of boyish appearance. I don’t think this is at all uncommon. A lot of Taiwanese boys look quite a lot like girls too. Anyway the issue seems to have caused some turmoil in her life as I suspect some of the other kids may have been quite insensitive in their treatment of her. At least that is the feeling I get. It is one of those rhinoceros head on the diner table deals. Everybody knows it’s there but nobody will talk about it directly. I really enjoyed this girls energy and intelligence but she started dressing and behaving more like a boy recently and with that I have observed some disturbance of mood. She is still the person I know and like, but she seems to want to make a point of being a bit, I guess rude, for lack of a better term. I’m no expert in things like this and do not intend to start counselling her but if anyone could give me any sort of guidance about how to be helpful to a person like her I would certainly appreciate it. Thanks.

Mind your own business.

Seems a delicate situation for you to step into. Maybe refer to counselling with no reference as to why she should go other than she seems troubled.

I used to have a class of teenagers in Spain. There was one girl who was, for want of a better expression, “the class smelly”. I mean, no-one wanted to sit beside her, she actually did have B.O. She wasn’t “cool”, etc. She was REALLY quiet, mostly because she was so intimidated by the other students.

I was especially careful with this student and made sure she had the opportunity to be the one to give me the correct answer at the right time, etc. I made sure I paired her up with the nicer students when it came to doing pairwork or groupwork.