Digital SLR - Where to buy?

Thinking about buying one of these: Canon EOS 40D

Does anyone have one?

Where is the best place to buy one in Taipei?

Anybody willing to spend a few hours teaching a complete novice how to use a new toy. Lunch provided.

Thanks in advance

The best place would be probably on Boai Road (where Kaifeng and Hankou cross), there are lot’s of camera shops around that area.

I’ve got one, but I bought it in Taichung.

I also have a 20D which I bought in Taipei. Try Horng Chang Photo at 28 Bo-ai Rd. Those guys are the best I’ve found in that area. There’s another store on Hankou Rd (or maybe Kaifeng St) that’s good. I don’t know the name, but they have a Leica sign outside.

Seconded the Bo’ai Rd recommendation. If you have a particular model in mind, you can just go up and down the street asking the price. You should ask if it’s 公司貨 (gongsi huo; that is, coming with a warranty) or 水貨 (shuihuo; gray market, cheaper but without a warranty. The 2 DSLRs I’ve bought have been been shuihuo and functioned well beyond their warranty).

If you’re a complete novice, I would recommend going for the 450D instead of the 40D unless you’ve handled the 450D and really can’t stand the ergonomics. Picture quality would be the same and the 450D is a bit cheaper. Also, I would go with the new 18-55IS kit lens and NOT the 17-85IS kit lens.

I’m always up for teaching people how to use their camera, but my price is a bit higher: I require a large beer from Cafe Odeon.

You can also try tw.bid.yahoo.com

… and don’t forget, there are more DSLR brands than just Canon that can suite your style and handling ergonomics …

Thanks guys, I’ll try and get down Bo ai road later today. Is that near the computer market?
I’ll also check out the 450D.

alidarbac, I’ll send you a pm when I get the new toy.

Thanks

Nope, it’s near Taipei Main Station / the old North Gate (Beimen).