Dim Sum

Where can one find good dim sum in Taipei?

I enjoyed the Brother Hotel a lot the last few times I went. If I were going tomorrow that’s where I’d head. The one in the Regent was my favorite, so of course they closed it.

I knew some HK people whe swore by the one on the SW corner of Xinyi and Xinsheng S Rd, on the second floor of the building with the supermarket in the basement, can’t recall the name. We went once but didn’t care for it too much, go figure.

There’s a new food stall on Kungkuan night market selling Dim Sum (first time I saw that on a night market, but I’m fairly new to Taiwan). I haven’t really tried yet, but it sure looks great, and the lady is very friendly.

Iris

Thanks for the tip Daltongang and Iris. I’ll check it out.

But I think I’ll skip the dim sum on the night market streets. Weak stomach…

It is quite amazing that Taipei has such slim pickens when it comes to dim sum.
Mainly, you can find dim sum places in almost all of the 3 or 4 star hotels in town, But it’s expensive!
When I lived in San Francisco, I ate delicious dim sum for brunch every Sunday on the cheap. Like US $10 for two people.
Here, you’re lucky to get good dim sum for five times that.
Weird.

We often go to Ambassador Hotel (?ͪ

…any more places? i am looking for a place that has good dimsum as well as a nice selection of stuff. I don’t care if it’s expensive. Hopefully, the place also push the carts around, but I’m okay with ordering from a menu. My main concern is selection and quality. Thanks.

twit

We always go to a place on HsinYi Rd on the second floor next door to and above a Kentucky Gold Chicken outlet, at the intersection of ShinSheng Rd and Hsinyi Rd (next to the northeast corner of Taan park). It’s pretty good, but they don’t always have carts. Sometimes one has to order dim sum from the menu. My Taiwanese wife likes that place, as did her brother and mother, and my brother and mother.