Discouragement in my study progress

I know this has probably been said before, but here goes.

I only work part time teaching as my purpose was to study Chinese while here. I am studying Chinese at a university here in Tainan and the teacher is good, so no complaint there.
But I find that since I need to work as well to maintain my life here, I am so tired at the end of the day that I usually just crash and have no motivation to study Mandarin at all.

I have a local friend that talks with me but since her English is so much better than my Chinese, if I insist on only using Mandarin, i will be stopping every 1 minute to look up the words and get her to correct me. Usually those that speak better English just default to English and I lazily go along with it as it is easier to communicate but no progress for me.
She is very patient but I feel very strange when I am struggling away in Mandarin when we can just use English. Because of this strange feeling, I gave up.

In addition, I don’t find just reading flashcards and a book is overly useful. I find it useful to go and use it, but again, I lack the energy and motivation to go out and do that. I think part of it is the stupid look I get from people and then they say ‘ting bu dong’ sometimes without trying. My friend suggests it is because they see a foreign face and assume are speaking English and not Mandarin.
Then I need to make up fake reasons to go out to different places to use the Mandarin. I tend to just hang out at home and listen to English music and TV when I have time due to being tired. I think I may just be a bit depressed as well due to the big move, who knows.

Do podcasts work for anyone? I found movies dont work because they speak too fast and I have to pause the movie every minute which makes the movie torture.

Basically I suck at learning. I wish I could find motivation but I feel more depressed at the slow progress and perhaps the method I am using.