Districts and neighborhoods in Taipei (or Taichung)

I’m looking for some advice. I have been teaching in Korea in the greater Seoul area for the past 2 years, and I also spent a few months traveling in Central America and the Philippines. Now I plan to come to Taiwan in about a month to find some work, but I’ve never actually been there before. My plan is to arrive on a visitor visa and hangout for a few weeks so I can check out some districts, schools, and neighborhoods in Taipei or even Taichung. However, a few weeks really isn’t all that much time, so I am looking for some help to steer me in the right direction.
Basically, I’m looking to live and work in an area that is:
• in or very near to the city (preferably close to a good nightlife and some interesting culture—restaurants, outdoor/night markets, contemporary art galleries, shopping, etc)
• convenient to get around by public transportation
• relatively affluent or recently developed.
• Near a good city park, or river way (with moderate or less pollution)
• clean and affordable housing (I realize affordable is relative, but you get the idea)
I’m used to city and “city-suburban” life, and I hope to find some work on the side in some nice neighborhoods. Some people have suggested places like Da’an, Neihu, Shilin, Muzha, in Taipei.
I guess I’m looking for a list of districts, areas, MRT stations or neighborhoods I should checkout in Taipei or possibly Taichung.
Suggestions?
Also, if you have been to Seoul, here is a short list of areas I enjoyed which might give you an idea of what I’m looking for:
In the city: Hongdae, Gangnam, Apgujang , Silim, City Hall, Dongdaemun, and even parts of Itaewon (off the main street) were decent.
Outside the city: Bundang (best place I have ever lived…as far as convenience, cleanliness, and ability to make money…and only 15-30 minutes to downtown Seoul on the bus. I’ll miss it.)