Do I have to file income tax back in Canada?

I have been living here in Taiwan for 5 years, for some of those years I was working and others I was a student. I plan on going home within the next few months. What will happen in terms of taxes when I go home? Will I have to report my earnings in Taiwan, or pay any money to the Canadian government?

Canadians still have to file taxes unless they have applied for non-resident status.

According to the Canadian government, you should have filed an income tax return every year you were away. For income tax purposes, being a ‘resident of Canada’ does not have its ordinary meaning. You were living in Taiwan for 5 years, but probably the gov’t will consider you to still have been a resident of Canada. Did you inform your province that you were leaving and were therefore taken off medicare? That’s one of the ways they decide if you are a resident or not. Others: do you have a bank account in Canada? Property? Credit cards?

However, I don’t think they’ll catch you if you don’t report. Just in case, keep copies of your Taiwanese income tax returns, if any.

I dont have health care so I guess they know im not there working. I cant remember if I did anything to let them know id be away for an extended period. Ill go to get all my tax info before i head back. Anyone see any potential problems with any of this?

Yes. If Revenue Canada determines that you were still a resident for the past 5 years you owe back taxes and could face charges on tax evasion. So yeah, a potential problem.

Do you own any property in Canada, or credit cards with a Canadian bank, or bank account? Do you have a provincial drivers license? If you have flown home these past years did you declare yourself a non-resident on the customs declaration? All these things can be used to determine residency. This is a very serious matter. Likely you are no considered a resident but I wouldn’t be so casual about it.