Do I need a criminal record?

Hi,

I have been in Taiwan for five years and got married in September. I want to apply for the ARC based on marriage. My wife called and they told her that since I have been here for 5 years that I don’t the Criminal Record Check from my home country and that I could get one from my local police station in Taiwan and that would be enough. I didn’t see anything about this anywhere on the message board or anywhere else. Does anyone know anything about this?

Thanks

If that is what they told you then great. Hartzell’s post here;
forumosa.com/3/viewtopic.php?p=132406#132406
seems to imply that you do still need to get a CCRD from your ‘home country’, though.

I have no personal experience of this so cannot comment further.

I suggest that you visit MOFA-BOCA in person, or have a friend do so, and pick up a copy of the regulations which they have printed out. It should be easy to determine the facts of the matter by looking at the written regulations.

My wife has just got off the phone with the Taipei County FAP head honcho.
If you have been in Taiwan for at least 5 years on a resident visa, you do not need a criminal record document from your home country (this is for UK citizens. I don’t know if the situation is the same for other nationalities).
Instead, you need to get a document from the re-entry bureau to prove the 5-years on a resident visa, plus another document from your relevant foreign affairs police office.

So, if you are a Brit and you’ve been here on a work-based resident visa for at least 5 years and wish to change to a Joining Family Resident Visa, you need:

1. Your marriage certificate
  2. Your household registration document with your name on it
  3. A health certificate
  4. A photograph
  5. A document from the re-entry bureau
  6. A clean criminal record from your FAP office