Do i need to pay tax as i worked in taiwan for less than 90 days in an year?

Hi All,
I have been working in taiwan since 15th nov 2016 and i am leaving taiwan on july 23rd 2018. I paid all my taxes for 2017 and 2018. As i stayed for less than 90 days in 2016, i heard that i don’t need to pay the tax. But my employer is not returning my withholding money. And he’s not providing withholding statement too. From nov 15 to dec 6th i was on bussiness visa. I got my ARC on dec 7th. So how many days will be counted for the year 2016?

Please advise me ASAP.

was this money earned in taiwan (taiwan company paying into a taiwan bank account)? then yeah you have to pay taxes. on top of that, you have to pay at the 18% rate for that year.

you probably got this detail mistaken - you don’t need to pay taxes on foreign earned income (like salary you earned in the USA, paid in USD, from a US company, into a US bank account) if you are in taiwan less than 90 days.

1 Like

If you go ask the tax bureau the answer is YES fork it over.

If you worked in Taiwan you owe tax at 18pct until after 183 days past within the calendar year of being on Taiwan.

If they don’t catch you…well they didn’t catch you. Catch you next time.

In your case your employer is keeping the withholding money and not giving you a receipt.
And you are at the same place where you received and reported income for two years.

I’m betting the tax office will have questions.

If they withhold tax from your pay they need to give you a receipt.

Tell them you plan to visit the tax office before you leave.

Sounds fishy.

You always need to pay tax even if you work only 1 day. That said if you file taxes you might get taxes returned for not hitting the taxable bracket.

Iirc there’s no refund if you’re not claiming any exemption or deduction (the typical -183 day scenario), except for any month in which your income was low enough to qualify for the 6% rate instead of the 18% rate.

This advice is nonsense.