Do you have a problem

…remembering certain words in Mandarin, but easily learning other words? I’ve been studying Mandarin for nearly two years and some words just don’t “stick” in my brain. Most words/characters I can learn without problems, but the few that don’t seem to stick really bug me!

Anyone else experience this when learning Mandarin?

Also, one thing I have noticed is that learning Mandarin does seem to get easier after you get about 500-600 characters memorized. I find myself learning more and more words easier, since many of their components are words I already know.

Yeah, I have trouble with characters that have zillions of homophones, like anything pronounced ji2 :frowning: . And abstract concepts are always harder to remember than concrete and familiar ones. The key for me to overcome these difficulties is to write them on blank namecards (available at all stationery stores) and constantly pull them out and try to use them frequently until each becomes part of my natural vocabulary. Don’t get too frustrated – they’ll eventually sink in if you’re persistent in your efforts! :moo: