Do you rent/own, where and how much?!

Hey Everyone,

I was just wondering what everyone’s housing situation is like. I wonder if you would be willing to share your story? I will share first:

1. How long have you been here and what’s your occupation?
    A. I’ve been here for 1 year 6 months, with a 1-year break in between. I am an English teacher! (Surprise, surprise)… but I also correct Senior High School students’ practice exam papers at a bushiban.

2. Rent/own, where and how much?
    A. Rent in Yungho for $10,000/month. 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, 1 kitchen, 1 living room, 18 ping abouts, 5th floor. Closest MRT is a 25-minute walk!

-Shawn

Hi shawn,
I live in Jiayi City; I pay NT$7,000 for a 3-bedroom, 2-toilet apartment. My guanli fei (building fee) is a rather steep NT$1,600 a month, but at least i have a free parking space.
When I lived in Taipei (a 5-minute walk from Dapinglin MRT station) I paid NT$17,000 for the same. Taipei really sucks when it comes to expenses - certainly eats into a man’s drinking money.

I both rent and own…

Small apartment in Chungli that I rather unwisely purchased at the insistence of the spouse/inlaws during the mid 90’s, and I rent a place in Yangmei.

5 bedroom, 3 bath,2 car garage with ocean view…74pings at 22k per month (Not including gwan li fei)

I rent: 47 ping for a modern apartment in a gated community about 25 minutes outside of Taipei. The air is clean, the neighborhood is quiet and safe, there are no bars on the windows, and I can’t see or hear any traffic from any of my windows. Lake view, Multiple elevators and underground parking. Good-sized kitchen, three bedrooms, two bathrooms, two balconies. Cost $20,700 (rent) $2,350 (management fees) $2650 (Parking for motorcycle and car), $3000 (gym/swimming pool/spa/tennis/rec centre fees for two people).
Total: $28,700, but life is very nice. :stuck_out_tongue:

:raspberry:

You forgot: no dogs.