Does giving up passport to get citizenship mean you're not a foreign teacher legally?

I’ve contemplated getting the Taiwanese passport at some point in the future but am curious what it means legally. Right now I’m a foreign teacher because I have a Canadian passport. Could you be blocked from jobs because you no longer hold a passport from an English speaking country?

5 Likes

You can’t legally be blocked from jobs by the government if a citizen. You would have the right to work here.

The job in question would probably be appreciative that they dont have to waste time sponsoring you. As long as you can satisfy the boss’s requirements.

I think this question is about public schools.

basically, citizens should be licensed to teach at schools. Even if they are licensed from foreign government, maybe they should be licensed from taiwanese government.

Foreigners are regarded to be licensed if they have proper passport and foreign license.

When a foreign teacher gives up a passport, is the person who is a citizen now still regarded as a licensed teacher, and can be employed as a foreign teacher? The latter part, I don’t think so.

private schools, they may have ways to employ the person, as they can somehow employ foreign teachers without license if they don’t need ARC.

Added:

@hannahjweav, do you know what would happen if a foreign teacher in a public school do a naturalization and give up a foreign passport during a semester?

1 Like

Good question. I would imagine they would no longer be qualified to work for the school as a foreign English teacher, but maybe could apply for a position as a Taiwanese English teacher in the school. Not sure how that would affect things mid-semester though. @eCanada, let me know if you want a definite answer about this particular situation and I can email someone for you. (I used to work for Teach Taiwan, which helps place certified foreign English teachers in the public schools.)

1 Like