Doing steak right

I’m a novice at cooking steak, and wonder what our resident experts have to say. The return of US beef has got me eager to pick up a nice Prime at Costco soon…

Here are bits I found on the web about steak, as I was trying to learn more today:

1. Picking the steak:

A) Cut: [quote]Chuck and Round are tough… Rib and Loin are not. If the words “chuck” or “round” are in the name of the steak, it will need to be marinated and then slowly cooked in liquid to be tender. These are generally very lean cuts with lots of muscle fiber that need to be broken down with slow, long, moist heat. Don’t even think of throwing a chuck steak on the grill. If the word “loin” is on the label, or the butcher tells you that a steak is cut from the loin (a strip steak, porterhouse or T-bone), these will be the most tender. Same goes for the word “rib,” as in rib-eye or rib steak. These can be cooked quickly – on a grill, in the oven or on the stove in a pan.[/quote]

B) Grade:

1. Cooking:
    I don’t have a grill, so I’m limited to pan-frying and the oven. Here’s what the above site said about both:

A) Cook to temperature: [quote]Don Roden, owner of the new Organic Butcher in McLean, says the secret to a perfect steak is 125 degrees on the thermometer (for rare).[/quote]

B) Pan-sear, then oven-bake: [quote] This is an old restaurant method and a practically foolproof way to make sure your steak is not overcooked. It works particularly well with a two-inch thick, boneless steak such as filet mignon. Sear the steak on one side in a hot, oiled pan on the stovetop over fairly high heat. This creates a nice brown crust. Flip the steak over, then place the pan in a 425-degree oven to finish the cooking. Roast to desired doneness (about 5 minutes for rare, 7 minutes for medium rare, 9 minutes for medium), depending on the thickness of the meat. Let the meat rest for 5 minutes to redistribute juices before serving.[/quote]

Ooh, I’m getting hungry…[/quote]