Dong Hai University opinions?

Hey forum.

I’m a US college student, and I’m thinking of spending my summer rooming with my uncle’s family in Taizhong. The idea is that I’ll either learn to speak Chinese fluently… or become a reclusive hermit. My uncle doesn’t speak English, only Taiwanese and Mandarin, so it’ll be sort of sink or swim - fine by me. However, like most other people, his family and such have school and work to attend, and I don’t want to be stuck in the apartment all day by myself.

I was wondering if anyone had any opinions on the language program at Dong Hai University? Would it be worth taking? I’d probably take it as a supplemental resource - I already have a sort of “curriculum” and plan of study that I’ve laid out for myself, so I might get ahead in my Chinese courses next semester. If I don’t enroll for any classes, I’ll probably work for my uncle under the table. In any case, I’d love to hear anyone’s opinion on Dong Hai.

Studied there on a scholarship 10 years ago, it was hard but fantastic then. Small classes, you never really want to get into the habit of blaming teachers for your crap learning, anyway, but they were good.

Can’t imagine it has changed or deteriorated.

You’ll not be a hermit in Taichung for long, as there are lots of foreign escapes when you need to speak English, or to munch on western food, etc. In fact the only alarm I saw in your post was living with the family. You are old enough, etc, that they will let you go out by yourself and so on? Not get overly protective of their US rel?

HG