Double Eyelids (aka my wife is driving me nuts)

So we just had a baby less than 3 weeks ago. Everything is fine except the fact that she doesn’t seem to have the western ‘double eyelids’ (雙眼皮) much.

They are there some of the time, but when her eyes are totally open, it seems they’re not.

Is this just something to be expected with a newborn and they will be like mine in the future?

I have no experience with this nor anyone else to ask so any advice would be appreciated.

She kind of jokingly says my genes are too weak (or my ‘soldiers’ were) and blames it on me… :s

Obligatory pics:

With
farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/255 … d2.jpg?v=0

Without
farm4.static.flickr.com/3006/255 … ee.jpg?v=0

Cheers

Ah yes, the coveted double fold, second only to the “tall nose” in the bizarre universe of Taiwanese physiognomy. Clearly, you are a failure as a foreign husband and as a man. She might as well have married a Taiwanese for all the good it did her gene pool :unamused:

Here’s a link that might help

drmeronk.com/asian/asian-eyelid-crease.html

No but enough ragging on the Taiwanese, that’s a beautiful kid you’ve got there. Congratulations : )

what a beauty!

the taiwanese can be funny about those eyelids. don’t know your full situation obviously but if this is a serious issue i think this would be one of those times where you put your foot down and insist on some common sense being applied, namely who gives a ff about eyelids.

Lol… thanks for the link…

I knew there was a surgery option (hopefully won’t be needed) and it’s always there as backup :slight_smile:

Any parents able to tell me of a similar situation where their kid ‘grew into’ having the ‘crease’ ?

I guess I made it sound worse than it is… she doesn’t go on and on about it… it’s all said in a kind of joking way but it would be nice to be able to reassure her that her baby will have more eyelids than all her friends’ babies in time :smiley: